All Weather News

Florida Gov. Declares State of Emergency Ahead of Tropical Storm Nate

5 Oct 2017, 12:56 pm

Governor Rick Scott issued a state of emergency Thursday to prepare Florida for Tropical Storm Nate.

The Florida governor declared the state of emergency for 29 counties within the state.

Those counties are: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Baker, Union, Bradford, and Alachua counties.


Gov. Scott says that he wants to ensure that local governments have ample time, resources and flexibility to get prepared for this storm and are not hindered, delayed or prevented from taking all necessary actions to keep communities safe.

“Tropical Storm Nate is headed north toward our state and Florida must be prepared,” Gov. Scott said. “By declaring an emergency in these counties, we can also ensure that there is no hindrance in the transportation of supplies and assets. I urge all Floridians to remain vigilant and stay alert to local weather and news.”

For all of the latest on Tropical Storm Nate, click here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.