All Weather News

Full “Supermoon” This Weekend

1 Dec 2017, 5:41 pm

The night sky is going to be a bit brighter this weekend, that is if clouds don’t block your view of the full “supermoon.”

The waxing gibbous moon earlier in the week (Wednesday, Nov. 29) over central Massachusetts courtesy Greg Forrister

The moon will reach its fullest stage of visibility precisely at 15:47 UTC Sunday. That 15:47 Universal Time will translate to 10:47 a.m. Eastern Sunday and 7:47 a.m. Pacific.

It will be hard to view the supermoon at its fullest stage since the sun will be up, therefore Saturday night and Sunday night will be best to view a nearly-full moon.

Here’s the forecast for cloud cover for Friday, Saturday, and Sunday night in case you want to catch the moonrise/moonset.

Cloud Forecast Friday night, December 1-2, 2017 where gray shows cloud cover and white shows thicker cloud cover.
Cloud Forecast Saturday night, December 2-3, 2017 where gray shows cloud cover and white shows thicker cloud cover.
Cloud Forecast Sunday night, December 3-4, 2017 where gray shows cloud cover and white shows thicker cloud cover.

This full moon is known as a “supermoon” where it appears bigger and brighter in the sky. That is because the moon is at a closer distance to us right now, known as perigee. That’s when the moon is at its closest point to us in its orbit. The moon’s orbit is not a perfectly even circle. It has a farther and closer point to us. Enjoy the show this weekend and if you have any awesome moon pictures, please share them with us on our Facebook and Twitter pages!

For WeatherNation, Meteorologist Steve Glazier

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *