All Weather News

Georgia Gov. Issues State of Emergency, Mandatory Evacuation for Coastal Cities

7 Sep 2017, 11:25 am

Georgia Governor Nathan Deal has issued a mandatory evacuation for areas along the coast starting Saturday. The mandatory evacuation order is for all areas east of I-95.

On Thursday, Gov. Deal said that he was also extending the state of emergency for 24 additional Georgia counties, totaling 30 counties.

“The state is mobilizing all available resources to ensure public safety ahead of Hurricane Irma,” said Deal. “I encourage all Georgians in our coastal areas that could be impacted by this storm to evacuate the area as soon as possible. Beginning Saturday, a mandatory evacuation order will take effect for Chatham County, all areas east of I-95 and some areas west of I-95 that could be impacted by this catastrophic hurricane and storm surge. GEMA/HS continues leading our preparedness efforts as we coordinate with federal, state and local officials to safely evacuate the coastal areas, provide public shelter and minimize the disruption of traffic. Finally, I ask all Georgians to join me in praying for the safety of our people and all those in Hurricane Irma’s path.”

The 30 counties under a state of emergency are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware Counties.

Stay with WeatherNation for the very latest on Irma.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.