All Weather News

State of Emergency Declared in 15 Oklahoma Counties After Tornado Outbreak

Katie OK

OKLAHOMA CITY (WeatherNation Affiliate KOKH) — Governor Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for 15 Oklahoma counties following an outbreak of tornadoes and severe storms.

The moves comes after seven tornadoes struck Oklahoma May 9, killing two men and destroying several homes.

“I appreciate the ongoing work of our first responders who have been working diligently to assist those in need,” Gov. Fallin said. “I also offer my continued thoughts and prayers to all those affected by the storms.”

The governor issued a state of emergency for the following counties

Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Garvin, Johnston, Kay, McCurtain, Murray, Noble, Payne, Stephens and Tillman

The state of emergency allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the deliver of resources.



Latest from the ground

Stay tuned for the latest:

Watch the Latest Severe Weather Updates & Live Storm Chasing

Watch For Free

Follow WeatherNation and Subscribe for Urgent Breaking Updates


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *