All Weather News

State of Emergency Declared in North Carolina From Wildfires

Governor Pat McCrory declares a State of Emergency for wildfires in western North Carolina.

This declaration was made Thursday, Nov. 10 to help combat more than 20 active wildfires in the area.

The State of Emergency is in effect for 25 counties which include Alexander, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford and Swain counties.

Much of western North Carolina along with most of the southeast remains in a historic drought with several cities receiving 10 to 20 inches of rain below average for the year.

“As eastern North Carolina was underwater due to flooding from Hurricane Matthew, the western part of the state has been suffering from a severe drought and now hundreds of acres are burning,” said Governor McCrory. “This declaration will help facilitate evacuations as needed and provide further state assets to help combat the wildfires and support North Carolinians displaced by the fires. This is extremely dangerous work and I especially want to thank the firefighters, first responders, sheriffs and other emergency personnel that have risked their own lives to protect our citizens and property.”

Crews are using a Blackhawk helicopter and rescuers to aid in potential rescues during the wildfire operations.

For WeatherNation– Meteorologist Nick Merianos


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.