All Weather News

State of Emergency Declared For Eight West Virginia Counties; Dozens Rescued

29 Jul 2017, 12:40 pm

West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice declared a state of emergency for eight counties Saturday morning following record rainfall.

“We are extremely saddened and deeply concerned for all West Virginians that are experiencing flooding and damage right now,” said Gov. Justice. “Numerous evacuations have and are continuing to take place.”

Counties included in the state of emergency are Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel, Marion, Monongalia, Taylor, Tucker and Harrison county.

Heavy rains Friday night into Saturday resulted in high water flowing over bridges cutting off access to many communities.

Marion County is one of the harder hit areas in northern West Virginia where more than four inches of rain fell over a short period of time.

Swift water rescue crews from surrounding communities performed more than 30 water rescues Saturday morning in Marion County after flood waters stranded residents in their homes and vehicles. Officials say the majority of the rescues were performed in the towns of Rachel and Mannington.

According to the Goverrnor’s office, the West Virginia National Guard has been mobilized to assist first responders.

A state of emergency declaration frees up state and federal assets for the state to use in its response. It also allows for a quicker, more efficient response to get resources to the communities affected.

For WeatherNation: Meteorologist Nick Merianos


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.