The Full "Snow Moon" Occurs This Weekend

news image
Special Stories
27 Feb 2021 6:00 AM
Depending on cloud cover over your location, you'll see the next big, bright, full moon of the winter season! This full moon is known as the Full Snow Moon or the Full Hunger Moon. The moon will rise near sunset and then set around sunrise. The full moon occurs at a precise moment in time. In this case it was at 3:17 a.m. Eastern, 2:17 a.m. Central, 1:17 a.m. Mountain and 12:17 a.m. Pacific Saturday, February 27. Even though the moon is technically full at an exact time, it will still appear big and bright for the next couple of nights. The full moon will rise along the eastern horizon near a bright star called Regulus. This is referred to as the heart of the constellation Leo. In terms of being able to see this full moon, the forecast tonight (Saturday - Sunday) is for cloudy conditions from the Mid-Atlantic to the Mid-Mississippi Valley region, fog around the northern Gulf Coast, and a mostly cloudy sky across much of the Great Lakes region. Elsewhere, breaks in cloud cover could provide you a nice look at the moon. Other happenings in the night sky this weekend include a spacewalk at the International Space Station (ISS). This will occur on Sunday. Here are the fast facts:
  • ISS spacewalk Sunday, February 28
  • Begins around 6 a.m. EST and ends around 12:30 p.m. EST
  • Mission: To ready the ISS for solar array upgrades
  • Three ISS crew members will go on the spacewalk
  • These solar arrays help power the ISS
  • You can watch via NASA TV by clicking/tapping here
Enjoy this weekend's night sky activities and share your pictures/videos with us on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter!
All Weather News
More
Over 4 Million Under Tornado Watch through Tonight

Over 4 Million Under Tornado Watch through Tonight

The severe storm threat shifts into Iowa and

16 Apr 2024 8:00 PM
Spring Snow in the Rocky Mountain States

Spring Snow in the Rocky Mountain States

Snow is falling in the northern and central R

16 Apr 2024 7:55 PM
Elevated Fire Danger Next Few Days

Elevated Fire Danger Next Few Days

Fire Danger often comes around on the back-si

16 Apr 2024 7:45 PM
Looking Ahead: Midweek Severe Threat

Looking Ahead: Midweek Severe Threat

As we have observed in the past few days the

16 Apr 2024 7:40 PM
Double Trouble: Cicadas Take to the Skies this Spring

Double Trouble: Cicadas Take to the Skies this Spring

It’s the soundtrack to the summer. Nature’s n

16 Apr 2024 7:35 PM
Potential Record Heat from the Plains to Southeast

Potential Record Heat from the Plains to Southeast

Multiple records were tied and broken across

16 Apr 2024 7:05 PM
Overnight Storms Target the Great Plains

Overnight Storms Target the Great Plains

The Storm Prediction Center has maintained an

16 Apr 2024 1:15 AM