All Weather News

The Full Harvest Moon Is Here

1 Oct 2020, 2:32 pm

The first full moon of October 2020 has arrived and it’s deemed the Harvest Moon.

The moon will be fullest on Thursday, October 1 at 21:05 GMT, or UTC. That time translates to 5:05 p.m. ET and 2:05 p.m. PT Thursday. Since it’s still light during that time, the moon will “technically” be past full moon phase Thursday night, but will definitely appear full to your eyes.

This full moon is referred to as the Harvest Moon because it’s the full moon nearest to the Autumnal Equinox which occurred the week prior. Look for the moon to rise above the eastern horizon at sunset, stay visible all night into Friday, and then set Friday morning along the western horizon around sunrise.

The Harvest Moon is the first of two full moons in the month of October! This is exciting, because it’s rare to get two full moons in one month. That’s because a full moon comes around roughly every 29 to 30 days so the timing has to be just right.

The next full moon will fall on Halloween, October 31st! That full moon will be known as a Blue Moon because it will be the second full moon in a month. A Blue Moon is also considered to be the fourth full moon in a season.

Share YOUR pictures and videos with us on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *